2013

Artist’s studio

Copropriété - Condominium, Paris 14ème

    indexed

    historic monument

    client

    private

    project management

    GMDP Architecture

    project management mission

    Mission complète compris diagnostic et OPC

    surface

    300 m²

    cost of the works

    € 1 M excl. VAT

    A number of well-known artists have established their studios here in this small artists’ estate that, like many others in the district, was built using materials recuperated from the pavilions forming part of the Paris 1889 Paris World Fair.
    While the buildings are not protected as Historic Monuments or as places of memory, the specificity of this typically “Montparnasse” Parisian district has been identified by the local Urban Development Plan as a group of buildings subject to specific provisions, with a green space and an existing volumetry to be conserved.
    The project fits into this approach through the application of a rigorous restoration, a rehabilitation and an upgrading of technical and comfort standards for this studio-house being used as a principal residence by the new owners. As art collectors, they are able to use it to present their paintings in the best possible conditions.
    The deteriorated structure of the house, resulting from the adaptation of the original construction that incorporated some particularly heterogeneous adjustments, called for the creation of a contemporary structure slid into the building to support the new framework.
    Considerable work was needed on the glazed roofs to retain the slenderness of the metal frames while also meeting thermal requirements.

2013

ATELIER D’ARTISTE À PARIS

Copropriété - Condominium, Paris 14ème

    classé

    Monument Historique

    maître d’ouvrage

    Privée

    maîtrise d’œuvre

    GMDP Architecture mandataire

    mission de maîtrise d’œuvre

    Mission complète compris diagnostic et OPC

    surface

    300 m²

    montant des travaux

    1 M€

    Des artistes importants ont établi leur atelier ici, dans cette petite cité d’artistes, construite comme beaucoup d’autres dans le quartier, avec les matériaux récupérés des pavillons de l’Exposition Universelle de Paris 1889.
    Si les bâtiments ne sont pas protégés au titre des Monuments Historiques, comme lieu de mémoire, cette spécificité du Paris de «Montparnasse» a été identifiée par le Plan Local d’Urbanisme comme un ensemble soumis à des dispositions particulières avec un espace vert et une volumétrie existante à conserver.
    Le projet s’inscrit dans cette démarche, par une restauration rigoureuse, une réhabilitation et une mise aux normes techniques et de confort de cette maison-atelier à usage de résidence principale pour les nouveaux propriétaires, collectionneurs d’art, qui peuvent y présenter leurs tableaux dans les meilleures conditions.
    La structure trop dégradée de la maison, en raison de son origine, avec des réemplois très hétérogènes, a nécessité la création d’une structure contemporaine, glissée à l’intérieur du bâtiment, pour le raccrocher à cette nouvelle armature.
    Un travail important a été réalisé sur les verrières, pour garder la finesse de leurs huisseries métalliques tout en répondant aux exigences thermiques.